Spain, Ireland & Luxembourg in race for key eurozone position

Politicians from Spain, Ireland and Luxembourg are competing to become the next President of Eurogroup, the monthly meeting of eurozone finance ministers. The group will vote for their new chairman later on Thursday. The position is a strategic one in coordinating economic policy across the 19 countries that use the euro, and the new President will take up the role at a time when the bloc is facing its worst recession since World War Two. Spain’s Nadia Calvino is running against Paschal Donohoe from Ireland and Pierre Gramegna from Luxembourg.

Subscribe to France 24 now:

FRANCE 24 live news stream: all the latest news 24/7

Visit our website:

Subscribe to our YouTube channel:

Like us on Facebook:

Follow us on Twitter:

Leave a Comment